Why Read The Bible?

20131114-134838.jpg

Forasmuch as many have taken in hand to set forth in order a declaration of those things which are most surely believed among us, even as they delivered them unto us, which from the beginning were eyewitnesses, and ministers of the word; it seemed good to me also, having had perfect understanding of all things from the very first, to write unto thee in order, most excellent Theophilus, that thou mightest know the certainty of those things, wherein thou hast been instructed.” Luke 1:1-4

I am obsessed with reading the Bible. I do so because of the faith which was authored by God within me. The Lord speaks to me about Jesus Christ and Him crucified, and all that was accomplished therein that one act of Love, throughout the entirety of the scriptures. It is very much in the way of Luke writing to Theophilus. Like Theophilus, as I read the written Word of God, the Holy Spirit, illuminating the scripture, teaches me and ensures me about my faith in the Cross of Christ so that I might know that what I am being taught and what I hold onto is certainly true.

And like the oil and the meal, The Lord gives me a little bit each day of the Holy Spirit’s anointing through the reading of His Word, that I may learn, like the prophet Elijah, to depend upon Him and His Word and return to Him daily for the assurance and the increase of my faith and in my walk.

This is why the Bible was written an why God uses it to reach the world. It is all about faith. There more we read it, the more we know God. The more we know God, the closer we will desire to be to Him. The closer we are to Jesus, the more like Him we become. The more like Him we become, the more He will use us for the furtherance of the kingdom, and that’s what our lives here are all about.

But continue thou in the things which thou hast learned and hast been assured of, knowing of whom thou hast learned them; and that from a child thou hast known the holy scriptures, which are able to make thee wise unto salvation through faith which is in Christ Jesus. All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness: that the man of God may be perfect, throughly furnished unto all good works.” 2 Timothy 3:14-17

SDG

One thought on “Why Read The Bible?

Comments are closed.