The Highway

20131122-173024.jpg

Go through, go through the gates; prepare ye the way of the people; cast up, cast up the highway; gather out the stones; lift up a standard for the people.” Isaiah 62:10

As I and my roommate are currently stuck on the highway, I thought it might be edifying for me to share this which I read earlier today. God is awesome in such wonderfully unexpected ways, that I actually flipped open my bible at lunch and it opened to this chapter. The minute I read this verse, it spoke to me and I have been meditating on it all afternoon. Now that we are stuck on the highway, I know why.

Jesus is the Way. To follow Him is to walk a higher way, a highway. And so, we take the King’s highway and live holy, separate from the world as an example to others, both saved and unsaved. In doing so, we are to remove any cause there may be in our walk that might be a block for an unbeliever or a cause of stumbling for a believer. These are the stones we must gather out. The apostle Paul speaks of this regarding his ministry when he speaks of living this way, so as not to offend, and in all his ways allow The Lord to shine through and draw men to Himself. This leads to the final part of the passage.

We are to raise a standard for the people. Jehovah Nissi is our Banner, our Standard. In the Son, Jesus Christ, the banner is the Cross. Jesus told us, if He be lifted up, He will draw all men unto Himself. So, our Banner, our God, Jesus Christ had to be lifted up, crucified. Now that His work is finished, we are to take up that Cross, lifting it before all men as we proclaim Him in our individual lives, and what He accomplished for us and for all men thereupon that Cross.

So, as the traffic begins to move again, and we traverse the icy highway here in Oklahoma, I proclaim myself a child of the One True God, a sinner saved by grace through faith in Jesus Christ and Him crucified. I’m trusting Jesus to get us where we are heading, and to get us back again in one piece, because I am His. If you are His, I welcome your intercessory prayers on our behalf, for the prayers of the righteous availeth much. Lift up Jehovah Nissi with me tonight!

SDG

One thought on “The Highway

Comments are closed.