Boldly Follow Me

20131127-163404.jpg

To boldly go…

I don’t know about you, avid reader, but the next phrase that enters into my mind is: “where no man has gone before.”

“…to boldly go where no man has gone before” was the final line to the opening monologue (and mission statement) of the original “Star Trek” television show. The following is the monologue in its entirety:

Space, the final frontier. These are the voyages of the starship Enterprise. Her five year mission: to explore strange new worlds, to seek out new life and new civilizations, to boldly go where no man has gone before.”

While it is exciting to think of things yet unknown and undiscovered, I find it more intriguing that within me there is a desire to boldly go elsewhere. Space is fun. Even inner space, as we go deeper and deeper into the realm of the infinitesimal, is exciting. Both, however, only point, in my mind, to one overwhelming truth. We could never fully discover the limits of what is beyond us in outer space, nor could we ever discover the foundational building blocks of all things. Seems the outer goes on and on, and the inner gets smaller and smaller. There is One, however, Who knows both things, and should they have limits, exceeds them merely by existing.

That One is God Himself. To know Him to the uttermost is my life’s desire and through His Son, Jesus Christ, there is opportunity to do so, for Jesus said, “I am the Way, the Truth and the Life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by Me. If ye had known Me, ye should have known My Father also: and from henceforth ye know Him and have seen Him.” (John 14:6-7) Jesus is the Way to deeper understanding of Who God is, and to what He accomplished for us by sending Christ to die on the Cross. He is the Way to not only know God, but to walk with Him, live by His Word, and have eternal life in His Presence.

As this year comes to its close, I can see where I would like to be in the upcoming year. I want to be closer to God. I want to have more of Jesus in my life. I want to become more like Him every day. In that regard, I desire to boldly go where One Man has already gone, Who blazed a trail of righteousness, Who laid the highway of holiness, and follow Him. I want to boldly be like Jesus and live the life He desires for me, a wonderful new life more abundant each and every day of the next year and beyond.

SDG

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/11/27/prompt-boldy/

20131127-163400.jpg

