Regret?

20131130-151558.jpg

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/11/30/prompt-humble-pie/

Regret.

It’s something we are told by the world to live our lives without. If the truth be told, however, most of us have lived and done things which we regret, no matter what our lives look like on the outside. I have regretted wasting much of my life chasing women. I have regretted the things I’ve said and done in anger. I’ve even regretted not sharing the gospel when presented with an opportunity to do so. Each of those things causes me to contemplate how my life may have been had I not done them.

No matter what mistakes have been made, or continue to be made, or are yet unknown and will be made, there is a Way to move on. There is a Truth to lean on and let go of that regret. There is a Man Who came to forgive us of our mistakes, our sins, against Him. After all, in the course of our human experience, our journey through this God given life, all of our regrets are due to those things we have done that offend, or those things we did not do that would have helped, others, and even ourselves, and therefore, says the Lord, God Himself.

And the King shall answer and say unto them, Verily I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye have done it unto one of the least of these my brethren, ye have done it unto me.” Matthew 25:40

God calls it sin. Jesus is that Way to be able to move past sin. Without Christ, all we would have is regret for those sins, but with Christ we have forgiveness. Jesus became as Man and the Way was made through His atonement on the Cross to be cleansed of all sins and move on. God Himself, after we have accepted Christ, sees us as cleansed, our sins removed as far as the east is from the west, and He does not remember them. He chooses to forget them, and if He can forget them, so should we. By moving on, trusting that the work of Jesus was finished completely at Calvary, we can live without regret and the condemnation that the Devil uses against us to keep us down and hinder our walk with God.

There is therefore now no condemnation to them which are in Christ Jesus, who walk not after the flesh, but after the Spirit. For the law of the Spirit of life in Christ Jesus hath made me free from the law of sin and death.” Romans 8:1-2

Of all of the times I have ever been wrong and had to eat humble pie, it was the moment I realized this Truth Who is Jesus has always been there for me. God has never left me, and will never forsake me, and so I had to eat a little bit of that proverbial humble pie when I had to turn from the way I was living, and the false truth of the world I was believing and proclaiming, and accept Christ. When I accepted Him, though, the regret of that past melted away, and now I live without any regret because Jesus lives within me and even when I make mistakes, I can still humble myself and make amends because of what He has done. There is plenty of pie left for that, but praise God that pie is now guilt, and regret free! Sweet.

No regrets.

SDG

