The Spirit World Is Real

20131228-130940.jpg

The Spirit World Is Real

And when He was come to the other side into the country of the Gergesenes, there met Him two possessed with devils, coming out of the tombs, exceeding fierce, so that no man might pass by that way. And, behold, they cried out, saying, What have we to do with Thee, Jesus, Thou Son of God? art Thou come hither to torment us before the time? And there was a good way off from them an herd of many swine feeding. So the devils besought Him, saying, If Thou cast us out, suffer us to go away into the herd of swine. And He said unto them, Go. And when they were come out, they went into the herd of swine: and, behold, the whole herd of swine ran violently down a steep place into the sea, and perished in the waters.” Matthew 8:28-32

Look around you. What do you see? I see three men sitting at a table having coffee, all with French accents, seemingly friends who have not seen one another in quite some time. There are also the three men behind the counter, serving up coffee, and breakfast, and cleaning up as they perform their work. I see also empty chairs and tables, and a bit of dull sunlight reflecting off the tables and floor through the gloomy gray of this overcast morning. Traffic outside has only just started to increase as the day grows, and across the intersection there are three or four unemployed men seeking to be hired for the day. All in all, this is a pretty standard Saturday morning, but…

What I see is not all that’s there. Sure there are many more details I could go into about what my eyes perceive, but I am not discussing those things. The things that I wish to detail are spiritual, and I know already, there is skepticism. So many either deny the very frightening prospect that unseen forces are controlling them, or whispering to them, or influencing others to misdirect them. Nobody wants to hear that demons and angels are all around us, yet, that does not make it less true.

So, the question is, why can we not see them? Why is the spiritual world invisible to most of us? When people speak of ghosts, hauntings, or possession others experience, we are riveted, but when it applies to ourself, it can’t be real. When mediums and psychics speak to others what they say the dead are trying to say, we are enthralled, but we are critical that it could happen to us. Even something as benign as chakra alignment speaks of spiritual principles and ideas, but it couldn’t possibly be the spiritual world which the Bible speaks of.

Well, the dead cannot speak to us, for they are no longer a part of, nor in contact with, this world. There is no journey for us to take after death. We die, and, in a blink, we either awaken in Heaven or in Hell and can no longer visit the living.

And it came to pass, that the beggar died, and was carried by the angels into Abraham’s bosom: the rich man also died, and was buried; and in hell he lift up his eyes, being in torments, and seeth Abraham afar off, and Lazarus in his bosom. And he cried and said, Father Abraham, have mercy on me, and send Lazarus, that he may dip the tip of his finger in water, and cool my tongue; for I am tormented in this flame. But Abraham said, Son, remember that thou in thy lifetime receivedst thy good things, and likewise Lazarus evil things: but now he is comforted, and thou art tormented. And beside all this, between us and you there is a great gulf fixed: so that they which would pass from hence to you cannot; neither can they pass to us, that would come from thence. Then he said, I pray thee therefore, father, that thou wouldest send him to my father’s house: for I have five brethren; that he may testify unto them, lest they also come into this place of torment. Abraham saith unto him, They have Moses and the prophets; let them hear them. And he said, Nay, father Abraham: but if one went unto them from the dead, they will repent. And he said unto him, If they hear not Moses and the prophets, neither will they be persuaded, though one rose from the dead.” Luke 16:22-31

Ghosts, hauntings and the spiritual references to anything that is not angelical are all from the same source, that being Satan and his dominion of hatred for God and mankind. Anything and everything that distracts from the Truth of Biblical teaching is used by him. Even the alignment of chakras is demonic. To go through that nonsense actually opens one up to the demonic world in a greater way and the influences thereof. So, you who practice yoga, beware. It is not of God.

There are no ghosts. There are demons.
There are no vampires. There are demons.
There are no restless spirits of loved ones past. There are demons.
Deceptive, cunning, demons.

I can say so because angels, at least those who are still the messengers of God and who are still called angels, cannot lie to us. Angels would never say they were a loved one to comfort our sorrow of having lost that loved one. Angels would never point you to yourself after the Holy Spirit so plainly points to God. Angels would never waste one moment of time tormenting anyone. They do one thing, the will of the Father, just as Jesus does. And God cannot lie.

So, whether you believe that or not does not make it less true, and it’s not just what is true to me. It’s Biblical. But still, why can we not see them?

No man, when he hath lighted a candle, putteth it in a secret place, neither under a bushel, but on a candlestick, that they which come in may see the light. The light of the body is the eye: therefore when thine eye is single, thy whole body also is full of light; but when thine eye is evil, thy body also is full of darkness. Take heed therefore that the light which is in thee be not darkness. If thy whole body therefore be full of light, having no part dark, the whole shall be full of light, as when the bright shining of a candle doth give thee light.” Luke 11:33-36

We can only see things through either darkness or light. Truth is, saved or lost, none of us want to see the evil surrounding us. It is only our spiritual eyesight that is given when we are saved that allows us to know the Truth. We may not physically see the demonic hoards surrounding us and those around us, but we know they are there, because of faith. Jesus spoke to Paul on the road to Damascus regarding the same.

But rise, and stand upon thy feet: for I have appeared unto thee for this purpose, to make thee a minister and a witness both of these things which thou hast seen, and of those things in the which I will appear unto thee; delivering thee from the people, and from the Gentiles, unto whom now I send thee, to open their eyes, and to turn them from darkness to light, and from the power of Satan unto God, that they may receive forgiveness of sins, and inheritance among them which are sanctified by faith that is in Me.” Acts 26:16-18

And Paul understood it.

For now we see through a glass, darkly; but then face to face: now I know in part; but then shall I know even as also I am known.” I Corinthians 13:12

Is all of this difficult to understand? Have you had to go back and read it again to try to get it? I’ll bet that even as you’ve tried to read this all the way through, there has been distraction. The phone rang, or the kids started screaming, or the door, or the dog, or something on the TV, or a text came through. There was distraction to try to keep you from reading this all the way through. That was demonic influence, attempting to keep you from the knowing and understanding truth.

Let me share this with you, then, that you might understand the spiritual world, and the influences thereof, better:

Before I began to write this this morning, it had been on my heart to do so for days. It’s a tough thing to write about, so I asked God to show me in the scriptures this morning something that would encourage me. I don’t often just open my Bible, but when I do do that, it lands in the Old Testament prophetic section. This morning, however, I was taken to our opening scripture. In my copy of the Bible, it is right in the middle of the two pages I opened up to. Undeniably, seeing with spiritual eyes, God showed me the importance of telling people about the demonic. Then, as I was writing this, my mind began to drift, wondering about the rest of my day’s activities and my life in general, and how I really wanted a massage, and also wanted to take a nap.

So, Andrew ( he is one of the baristas behind the counter ) came up to me to ask me what I was reading this morning. I smiled, because as I told him, my mind was brought back to what God wanted me to do. I told Andrew all of this, and he said, “Funny how I came over to ask you right in that moment.”

That is the spiritual battle that rages all around us. There are forces trying to stop us from sharing Truth, and there is God trying to encourage us to share it. Which brings me to one last spiritual subject.

The Bible.

In the physical, it is a book, made of paper and ink (or a data stream if your Bible is on a device). To the unsaved, it is a good teaching tool of moral principles. To the saved, it is a spiritually discerned guide that directs us through this life in how to live for God. In the battle at hand, it is more than that. It is a weapon, and it is armor.

Wherefore take unto you the whole armor of God, that ye may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand. Stand therefore, having your loins girt about with truth, and having on the breastplate of righteousness; and your feet shod with the preparation of the gospel of peace; above all, taking the shield of faith, wherewith ye shall be able to quench all the fiery darts of the wicked. And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God:” Ephesians 6:13-17

The Sword of the Spirit, ladies and gentlemen, is Christ Jesus, Who is the Word. He is our strong tower, our refuge, our strength. I look at the Word which lay on the table before me and I have confidence that, though I see physically a book, spiritually, I see a sword. It is sharper than any two edged sword, and it is a weapon in the unseen spiritual realm.

Suppose ye that I am come to give peace on earth? I tell you, Nay; but rather division:” Luke 12:52

Jesus is Lord, and all must eventually come to Him to answer for themselves and to acknowledge Him as Lord. Every knee shall bow, and every tongue shall confess this. But right now, in the world we must live in, the unseen battle rages on. The spirits fight against us, and we either take our place in the battle and we fight back with the Word and the Love of God, or we are prisoners of this war, in chains of sin.

Put on the whole armor of God, that ye may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil. For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places.” Ephesians 6:12-12

And as we trust in and stand with the Christ Jesus, we can have the absolute confidence that Paul had.

Nay, in all these things we are more than conquerors through Him that loved us. For I am persuaded, that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come, nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” Romans 8:37-39

Therefore, my friends, let us remember that the spiritual world is intertwined with the physical, though it is unseen. Let us fight the good fight of faith, in Love, and do our part in serving God, sharing the gospel of Truth, and applying Truth to every facet of our life as we walk the path of righteousness.

SDG

20131228-130933.jpg

