We Are The Light Of The World

20140106-133833.jpg

We are the light of the world.

“And he said, It is a light thing that thou shouldest be my servant to raise up the tribes of Jacob, and to restore the preserved of Israel: I will also give thee for a light to the Gentiles, that thou mayest be my salvation unto the end of the earth.” Isaiah 49:6

In the past few days, I have read much that has been written by my fellow bloggers about being the light in the darkness. I have agreed with it, because scripture tells us this very thing. Jesus Himself said that we are the light of the world. Of course, I know this is only true because of God within me. If not for Him, I am selfish and have no light at all. My heart wants dark things and if I focus not on things of virtue, things of God, my thoughts drift toward myself and my carnal desires.

As far as I know, if I stand alone, I am not the light. I am darkness, having a heart that is wicked and deceitful even to myself. It wants love, but in a lustful way. It wants things of this world. My heart, standing alone, thinks evil continuously, wanting revenge for slights, wanting prestige for accomplishments, desiring all things without deserving any of it.

It is God Alone Who is the light within me. He is the lamplight, searching the darkest corridors of my soul, opening doors that have been locked for years and delving into the dungeon-like depths of my inner being. He seeks out the coldest of places, bringing to light the wickedness that is buried. When He shows me those places, He brings warmth as He cleans them out, brushing away both the self condemnation and the guilt of the past.

Jesus is that Light. He is the Only One Who could ever be a light within me, for He is God, and God is good, all the time. And so, I prayed to God above, the Self same God within, that He continue to change me and mold me to be more like Jesus every day. As I prayed last night, He gave me two things to read.

Isaiah 46, which is a portrait of God Alone being the Only One Who can do anything. In our lives, if we focus on anything else, save Jesus Christ and Him crucified, we waste time because there is no other way and no other God. It is He Alone Who is worth anything to us, more than gold or silver, more than anything we could imagine or create for ourselves in this fleeting life He has given to us. After reading this and letting Him speak to me about my life being in His hands, and how I am to let Him do what only He can do, He gave me Isaiah 49:6.

And that says that Jesus is the Light of the world and that it is as nothing to Him to serve God the Father and save the whole earth. The most important thing God could ever have done was redeem us all, and that He has through Christ.

And so, this morning, I share with you this experience, this lovely affirmation of God’s loving hands upon us all. He works through us because of what Jesus did for us on the Cross. Because Jesus died for us, and because we believe, the Holy Spirit has been given to us, placed within us, and He illuminates our lives from within. He makes us into the light of the world. As we stand with God, with Jesus, we are the light, for we are His, bought with that precious Blood and redeemed to Him for His pleasure, which is good, for His desire is to redeem all mankind, that none should perish.

We are the light of the world, as Jesus is the source of our Light. He is with us and in us and we are in Him. His burden is light, His yoke is easy, therefore, we trade ours for His and we go forth as He directs, bringing a light into the darkness, even within ourselves, focusing on Him, our Righteousness, letting Him continue to change us to be more like Jesus as we witness those changes to others.

So, like my fellow bloggers, I can tell you that we are the light of the world, because God makes us so, and according to His Word, which is True and cannot lie. Be the light, brothers and sisters.

SDG

