Purple Reign

20140129-105908.jpg

Purple Reign

Two days ago, I wrote about King Hezekiah and how we should be like him, cleaning house. Our temples of The Lord must contain no vile thing. Within the scripture (II Kings 18:1,3-8) I was led to use is the statement in verse six that the King kept God’s commandments, and was thus blessed. Well, that theme continues this week as I read through the letters of I, II, & III John, and Jude, leading into Revelation. But let me back up a bit.

Yesterday, I prayed to The Lord Most High in anguish. Tears steamed down my face as I longed for that reconnection, and confessed sin after sin after sin, and admitted that I have not been the good steward over this life that I should be. My heart was heavily burdened with the sorrow of having rebelled against God. So, I broke and I cried out to Him for help. It was all I could do.

Having made things right, and feeling that burden lifted, yet still knowing I am but a worm of a man, I read 2 John and 3 John. Interestingly, the letters, written to two different people, said much to me of what was expected from a soldier for Christ, including keeping His commandments to love Him and one another, but it was one thing which they both shared that stood out.

“Having many things to write unto you, I would not write with paper and ink: but I trust to come unto you, and speak face to face, that our joy may be full.” II John 1:12

“I had many things to write, but I will not with ink and pen write unto thee: but I trust I shall shortly see thee, and we shall speak face to face. Peace be to thee.” III John 1:13-14a

I was expecting The Lord to speak to me through His holy Word, and He did, but not in quite the way I thought. Yes, I read to follow the commandments, not to sin, to look away from evil, trust in God and walk in the Truth. Amen. But these verses, spoke volumes. I understand that the same man wrote the letters, and so perhaps he would say the same sort of thing to different people, but I am reminded that the Holy Spirit chose what was placed into the Bible and where. So, I expected to hear from God, knowing that the time is short, and we shall see Him face to face. In this, I received both joy and peace, just as the scriptures say. Then, this morning, I awoke earlier than the alarm went off and had clear as day the song by Prince, “Purple Rain.” Only the one line repeated itself over and over in my head.

“I only want to see you laughing in the purple rain.” – Prince

Prince was obsessed with the end of days, to which the anthem “1999” can attest. In “Purple Rain,” he describes his own idea of what the end will look like, when the sky becomes tinged with blood, and the red and blue make purple, and the rain that follows which is supposed to wash everything away. Yet, in my mind, the Spirit turned the word rain to reign. And in that, I received the idea, through royal purple and the coming of the King to rule and reign, that God is saying that the time is short and the end is truly nearer than anyone really believes. God wants to see us all laughing and praising His name forever and ever. The Bible says there will be no more tears, only joy. So, laughing, we will bask in the glory of The Lord. Purple Reign. Amen and amen.

In this, The Lord met me where I recall He had before, so that I would know it was Him this morning, as well. When I struggled earlier in my walk, I had a whole lot of prayers for help. The one thing He placed upon my heart was to believe and to continue to believe. For many mornings in a row, I awoke with the Journey song “Don’t Stop Believing” in my head. It was only that very line, over and over. And so I held on, believing in Him, just as I do today, as many of you do, also. And as Prince keeps singing that line over and over in my head, I know He wants me to hang on, because there is so much to yet behold. He is coming, and the purple He will wear will be perfect, for His reign is perfect, even now.

He only wants to see us laughing in His purple reign. Be blessed today, friends. Share Him with someone, anyone and see His reign in your life that you may know, as I know, He will reign perfectly in our lives, now and forevermore, if we but let Him. He will make Himself known shorty to all the world when He returns to reign here physically as He takes the throne which is rightfully His from Satan, but if you are His, then His reign in your life has already begun.

Smile. Laugh. Enjoy. His reign is all joy. Purple Reign.

SDG

