Born Again To See

Born Again To See

“The same came to Jesus by night, and said unto Him, Rabbi, we know that Thou art a Teacher come from God: for no man can do these miracles that thou doest, except God be with him. Jesus answered and said unto him, Verily, verily, I say unto thee, Except a man be born again, he cannot see the kingdom of God.” John 3:2-3

Against the opinions of the rest of the Sanhedrin, Nicodemus knew that Jesus was a Messenger come from God. Like all who are called by the Father, he could not stay away from Christ. He came in secret to tell Jesus that many recognized Him as coming from God, but Jesus plainly told him something that applies to all men.

Unless you are born again, you cannot see the kingdom of God. Jesus would also tell him that unless you are born again, neither will you enter into the kingdom. If you do not know Jesus personally, and you have not accepted Him as your God and Savior, then you have not been born again. So what does that mean?

Jesus goes on to explain that every man is born in the flesh, that being through the womb of their mother (Only two people were created without being born – Adam and Eve. The rest of us came through the womb). He explains, also, that, after this, we need to be born in the Spirit. This means that until the Spirit enters into us, our own spirits are there; created, yet unborn. Our spirits must be born to become alive. This is what Jesus meant.

You cannot see the kingdom if you are yet not born in the Spirit. This means that the things of God remain hidden to those whose spiritual eyes are closed. We see this in the world around us. The world does not want the Truth. They seek their own truth, one by one, which conforms to their own wills and desires. As an example, a person who is unchanged, yet unborn in Spirit cannot hear what the Spirit speaks through the Bible.

In my own life, when I picked up the Bible, I struggled to read it. It was so and so begat so and so, who begat so and so, who begat so and so, and on and on until I passed out from boredom. I got nothing from it. Scholars today study what the Bible says and compare it to what is evidenced through other sources, looking for errors in an attempt to discredit the Bible. Many look at it and see good moral teaching, but nothing more. For me personally, I was taught the Bible in Catholic school, and the stories and the morals with those stories, but I did not read it for myself. I couldn’t. I didn’t have the desire, nor inclination to do so. That didn’t come until I was saved.

When I was born again, suddenly the Word of God came alive to me. It was alive the whole time, but I could not see it. Being born again, I was made new, and my spiritual eyes were opened. The words on the pages directly applied to my life, and my circumstances, my moment of reading was right there in the page and I wept as, in my heart through the awakened spirit within, I saw how my life was portrayed in ink. The Spirit was speaking and showing me what was previously hidden.

That was why so many people would not accept Christ, then or now. Their eyes were closed. They have yet to be awakened through being born again.

Praise be to God that He has limitless patience with us! In His mercy, He sent His Spirit to call us, and waited for us to answer. I thank God that Jesus came to us that we might be born again. Like the Pharisees before us, we could not fully discern what the scriptures were saying about Christ, but once we are saved, born in the Spirit, the Word speaks to us! We once were blind, but now can see! Hallelujah!

SDG

