The Big Bang?

20140409-070046.jpg

The Big Bang?

“Through faith we understand that the worlds were framed by the word of God, so that things which are seen were not made of things which do appear.” Hebrews 11:3

I am curious and I like to know things to the uttermost. I will follow every trail until I know it. There are maps of various cities I have lived in my head from simply wandering the streets driving. I could probably draw you a strip map to get from A to B almost anywhere I’ve been. My mind is a trap like that. But, hey, God made me this way. So, praise God!

There is also an urge to learn and understand things. It’s why I am good at my job. I observe, learn, and incorporate new ideas into what I do, discarding the outdated ones, ever improving the technique. It is a constant process of refinement. I see this in the world around me as I study it, too.

In my lifetime alone, we have gone from single line phones hard wired to one another to hand held, full blown, Star Trek-like computers that just happen to function as phones. We went from 5 channels on a VHF bandwidth to thousands of specialized channels from which to choose. From television that was “off the air” through the night, to never ending; from AM/FM to XM to Pandora; from computers that filled rooms to microchips; and so on and so on…

It is our searching that leads us to understanding and development in the physical (which includes the mental, or intellectual). We strive to put a label on everything. There are some things, though, which need to be surrendered, yet somehow the world cannot set it down. I actually understand that, but I know that when I finally let it go and accepted the Truth, it was not because I had physical evidence.

It was because God gave me faith to believe that which He says is true. After all, I, being a part of this “something” I am created from, was not there (by definition) when there was nothing.

“Where wast thou when I laid the foundations of the earth?” Job 38:4a

I surely was not there! And yet, by faith, I know how it happened. It was not a random explosion from nothingness into something. It was divine creation of something from nothing. In fact, God did nothing more than speak and things just were. I don’t need to find evidence in the physical. (If I speak, and no one records it, can you discover my words? Nope. You’d have only the memory of them, and then only if you were there to hear it). God spoke, and there it was. The evidence is that we exist. The record is the Word, and that’s all I need to know about that.

Big Bang? More like nothing, blink, light; light, blink, Heaven; Heaven, blink, Earth, and so on. No bang, no explosion, just one moment nothing, the next moment something. Seem improbable because it just doesn’t fit the physical world we live in? That’s the definition of faith, folks. God said it, and it was. Therefore, whatever God says is true and right, and He said in His Word that He created it all. I believe Him.

SDG

