The Mountain

“…verily I say unto you, If ye have faith as a grain of mustard seed, ye shall say unto this mountain, Remove hence to yonder place; and it shall remove; and nothing shall be impossible unto you.” Matthew 17:20

This morning, as I was listening to preaching from the Beatitudes, I was inspired to go and read them again myself. So, when I arrived at work, that is exactly what I did. I began to read through them, taking in every ounce I could. About halfway through, as I was contemplating what it was Jesus had taught, and how I should be applying the lessons to my own life, I realized that I had background music in my mind.

This song is sung by the Collingsworth family, and I have heard it on Pandora. It is called “Tell The Mountain.” I encourage you to take a listen. It will bless you, even if you don’t finish reading this post.

This is the very song which was playing in my mind. Not the last song I had heard, but familiar enough that the Holy Spirit chose it from the jukebox which is my memory to play and send me the message I am about to share.

So, I can hear this song, and my focus on the lesson from the Beatitudes shifts from applying the lesson to my life to trusting that God is already applying them to my life, and has been. These are the changes that have been ongoing. So, I see the lesson, I see the changes, and the song takes over. I closed my Bible and focused on the lyrics of the music playing in my mind.

In the foothills of sorrow
Looking up from the valley
You can see doubt off in the distance
And you’re about to lose heart right here
But don’t ever give in
Don’t ever give up
God is with you and you’ll overcome

The mountain will tell you
That you can’t make it over
It will try to convince you
That it’s way too high
Though you feel defeated
Know that God keeps His promise
So you tell the mountain
Just how big your God is

Jesus spoke of that mountain we all face. Whatever our mountain is, He said to tell it to be removed and go to yonder place. Basically, He said tell that mountain to get out of your way, and if we have faith, it will obey. He even referred to the mountain twice.

The first time was when the disciples could not expel a demon, and then Jesus did it. He told them that if they’d only believe nothing would be impossible to them. The second time was when they witnessed the fig tree wither away after Jesus told it to. They were just as awed by this as by when the demon was removed! So, He reminds them of what He had said before.

“Verily I say unto you, If ye have faith, and doubt not, ye shall not only do this which is done to the fig tree, but also if ye shall say unto this mountain, Be thou removed, and be thou cast into the sea; it shall be done.” Matthew 21:21

This second time, He said that not only can we tell the mountain to go elsewhere, but we can tell it to be gone. By telling the mountain to cast itself into the sea, we are telling it that we no longer even want to see it. In faith, we can tell the mountain to move from our path, but it can still be in our sight. Jesus reiterates that we not only have command of it through Him, but we have total victory over it. Therefore, there is no reason for us to even have to view it. Looking upon that mountain is unproductive and a waste of time. Therefore, we should just consider it gone.

When we see that the victory is already won, then we can see that we are already changed. The mountain within us is our old man and that old man has no place when God views us as positioned in Him, clothed in righteousness, and holy. He sees us that way even now. It is we who need to view ourselves like God does and see that He has made the changes.

…and those Beatitudes? They are who He has made us to be when we were born again, new creatures. We need to abandon the old and accept the new. When we are willing to do that, the new begins to fit more comfortably and we begin to be in the physical what God says we are in spirit. We may wriggle within the new from time to time, and in fact, we will. But the more we learn to trust God and what He says to be Truth, the less and less we will rely on the old and live the blessed, happy, joyful life He provides.

“Blessed are the poor in spirit: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. Blessed are they that mourn: for they shall be comforted. Blessed are the meek: for they shall inherit the earth. Blessed are they which do hunger and thirst after righteousness: for they shall be filled. Blessed are the merciful: for they shall obtain mercy. Blessed are the pure in heart: for they shall see God. Blessed are the peacemakers: for they shall be called the children of God. Blessed are they which are persecuted for righteousness’ sake: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.” Matthew 5:3-10

