Not Under A Bushel

The Light of the World

“Ye are the light of the world. A city that is set on an hill cannot be hid. Neither do men light a candle, and put it under a bushel, but on a candlestick; and it giveth light unto all that are in the house.” Matthew 5:14-15

My grandmother used to sit with us when she watched us and sing, God rest her soul. She would get us to sing along with her, and my favorite memory of singing with her was when she had us sing “This Little Light of Mine.” We would use our hands and act out the part with the bushel, where one finger was a candle and the other hand was the bushel. I had no idea what all of it meant at the time, but it was fun.

In stark contrast to that memory is that of my grandfather, God rest his soul. He constantly preached the Word in his house. He had the television always tuned to a televangelist station, of which he knew many. It was amidst this that I was forced to be when we visited with my parents. They would go into the kitchen and speak with my grandmother, leaving us to suffer my grandfather in the living room.

Now, he was very adamantly and he believed with all his heart. But, when you had no choice having been told by your father to sit on the couch and be quiet, you became a captive audience. No captive audience wants to be saved, unless you count being saved from the torture of sitting next to your brother and finally let outside.

These were two vastly different ways of sharing the gospel, and though I didn’t understand it when I was young, I can tell you which one had the greater positive affect. I love both of my grandparents, and I know they still live in Heaven and that I shall see them again, one day soon. But, I’d much rather have been brought in by the love of singing His praises than being scared into it by fire and brimstone.

The fire and brimstone is absolutely true. I believe, though, that though it is necessary for complete understanding of the Cross to know the other choice, it is His Love that brings us in. By experiencing the Love of a Creator that could have called down ten thousand angels, yet chose to stay on a Cross to the end, for six hours tortured by every breath He took. Well, there is no comparison. No warning of the hell that was ahead would stop me. It is the Love He demonstrated then and continues to demonstrate in me and around me that encourages me to draw closer.

Because He loved me that much, and I know that I was on His mind when He was on that Cross, I have to share that Love with everyone. Like the Apostle Paul before me, if I don’t share the Light, I feel as though it will burn me within. This light cannot be hid under a bushel. Now that I understand what that means, I hope and pray that my life becomes a testimony to everyone I encounter.

Use me, Lord, and bless those you place in my path through my words, and through my life. All glory and honor and praise is Yours, Father. In Jesus’s Name. Amen.

Hide it under a bushel? Oh no! I’m gonna let it shine

Hide it under a bushel? Oh no! I’m gonna let it shine

Hide it under a bushel? Oh no! I’m gonna let it shine

Let it shine, all the time, let it shine. Oh yeah!

