I Am Mephibosheth

I am Mephibosheth.

“As for Mephibosheth, said the king , he shall eat at my table, as one of the king’s sons.” 2 Samuel 9:11b

Today, I am overwhelmed by the fact that the Lord has accepted me just as I am. It is He that makes me to sit at the table of God and eat as a son of His. I cannot be righteous of my own accord, for to walk in the Spirit is difficult, at best.

I am Mephibosheth.

I am lame on both feet, unable to walk properly. Yet, He walks with me, holding me up when I can’t do it, and guiding me closer and closer to God-likeness.

Mephibosheth had it right. He knew he was nothing more than a dog, unworthy of even the table scraps. In every aspect, he knew he should have been slaughtered with his father’s house.

I am Mephibosheth.

Yet, because of the covenant which David forged with Jonathan, Mephibosheth was spared and raised to the status of co-heir and prince. He was instantly, and irrefutably brought into the kingdom of David, having done nothing himself but accept it.

I am Mephibosheth.

We are the same. Because of the covenant that Jesus forged between Man and God, being both Man and God, honoring and fulfilling the covenant from both sides as Man and God, we – having accepted the Truth and believed – are rewarded accordingly, just like Jonathan’s son.

I am Mephibosheth.

Like him, we sit at the table with God. We are a part of the Body of the very Christ we serve and where He is, there, too, are we. We are in Heavenly places with Him, all because of His Love for us.

We shall never attain the full glory of being God; but, God – because He cannot selfishly keep it all – has given to us a place of honor where we might abide as princes with Him. Praise God that He has seated me at that table with Him! There was nothing I did to deserve it. I have been lame on my feet, yet my God allows me to lean on Him, and He carries me through. It is through grace, by faith, that I am saved, not by works, lest I would boast. I couldn’t do it without Jesus. It is God within me that helps me stand, walk, and Who sits me down with Him.

I am Mephibosheth.

SDG

