In The Words

In The Words

“Lord , how are they increased that trouble me! many are they that rise up against me. Many there be which say of my soul, There is no help for him in God. Selah.” Psalm 3:1-2

Ever have one of those days? You know, where nothing seems to go your way and, no matter what you do, you get exhausted trying to keep up and everyone seems to be working at holding you back? Try stringing a bunch of those together. That’s how it’s been for a while in my life.

Don’t get me wrong. My life by no means stinks. In fact, I am abundantly blessed, more so than I even deserve. But, to find the time to sit down and write something has been more than a challenge. Every minute of every day has become so very precious, and they are beginning to click off faster and faster. Add to that all of the distractions and demands of this world in the workplace, at home, and in public, and well, you understand.

But, regardless of the war that is raging around me, I realize that I cannot fight in every battle. I can only fight on the fronts to which the Lord calls me. There are many who wage the siege against, proclaiming I must have tolerance of all things or I’m wrong. Those people don’t understand what the Bible teaches or they don’t want to follow its teachings. All I do is point it out to them and the fight begins. I am but one man and I cannot fight alone. So, when I find time, I long to dedicate it to the Lord, my great and mighty high tower, in writing.

“But thou, O Lord , art a Shield for me; my glory, and the Lifter up of mine head. I cried unto the Lord with my voice, and He heard me out of His holy hill. Selah.” Psalm 3:3-4

It is God Who has sustained me through these days and it is God Who encourages me to write. I have been used greatly to encourage others, possibly even you, dear reader. Every time He uses me in any capacity for the kingdom, He is growing me. He uses me to encourage, but in my surrender to His will to assist others by actions and by proclaim in His Word, He is teaching me to trust Him more and more. He is teaching me to be encouraged by Him myself and to experience the joy He has for me even in the difficult times. All He asks of me is to ask of Him because He loves to listen. He wants to hear about it, through praise, through surrender in distress, through good times and bad. So, I reach out and ask for His anointing to share the encouragement in my writing and to multiply the minutes, that I may find the time to write for Him.

“I laid me down and slept; I awaked; for the Lord sustained me. I will not be afraid of ten thousands of people, that have set themselves against me round about. Arise, O Lord ; save me, O my God: for Thou hast smitten all mine enemies upon the cheek bone; Thou hast broken the teeth of the ungodly. Salvation belongeth unto the Lord : Thy blessing is upon Thy people. Selah.” Psalm 3:5-8

In Christ, I will remain calm. I will rest, as He has said. Over 300 times, God has proclaimed “Be not afraid,” and so I will not fear. If the entire world comes together as one and, yet, against what I believe and know of the Lord, Jesus Christ, I will stand up for my God. For in Him is the victory. In Jesus there is hope. He has defeated Satan, broken his power over man, and taken the teeth from his threats. Satan can do no more than roar and threaten, and my God, Jesus Christ, has me under His wing.

I am more than blessed in this life, no matter how it may appear to the casual observer, and I will find the time to honor my Lord, and I will do so in Truth and in Spirit. There will be times that these words will stir and cause division, but that’s what Jesus came to do. He came to fulfill the will of the Father. I endeavor to do the same. Only the Truth can set people free, and I refuse to compromise. May God give you, my dear readers, ears to hear the things He has to say through this blog. May you be encouraged as I am being encouraged. God bless you all.

SDG

