Practical Atheist

Practical Atheist

“Wherefore the Lord said, Forasmuch as this people draw near Me with their mouth, and with their lips do honor Me, but have removed their heart far from Me, and their fear toward Me is taught by the precept of men:” Isaiah 29:13

A practical atheist (practically or just about an atheist) is someone who believes in God but lives as though He doesn’t exist. Jesus would call such a one lukewarm.

“And unto the angel of the church of the Laodiceans write; These things saith the Amen, the faithful and true witness; the beginning of the creation of God; I know thy works, that thou art neither cold nor hot: I would thou wert cold or hot. So then because thou art lukewarm, and neither cold nor hot, I will spue (vomit) thee out of My mouth.” Revelation 3:14-16

A lukewarm Christian is someone who is a disciple of Jesus, but is half hearted about it. Here are ten indicators of a lukewarm Christian. I pray that we stay soft and let the Holy Spirit speak to us, and let Him show us if we are exhibiting any of these ten and may we ask Him to change our hearts regarding any into which we may fall.

Ten Indicators of a Lukewarm Christian

1. Craves acceptance from people more than acceptance from God.

2. Rarely shares their faith in Christ.

3. Does whatever is necessary to alleviate their guilt.

4. Thinks more about life on Earth than eternity in Heaven.

5. Gauges their morality by comparing themselves to other people.

6. Wants to be saved from the penalty of sin without changing their lives.

7. Only turns to God when they are in a bind.

8. Gives whenever it doesn’t hinder their standard of living.

9. Aren’t that much different from the rest of the world.

10. Wants the benefits of what Christ did without conforming to Who He is.

If we have any of these in our hearts today, I pray that we can let it go and let God make the necessary changes to transform and conform us into the image and life of Christ. He is faithful to do so, if we would but repent of these things and turn to Him.

“Because thou sayest, I am rich, and increased with goods, and have need of nothing; and knowest not that thou art wretched, and miserable, and poor, and blind, and naked: I counsel thee to buy of Me gold tried in the fire, that thou mayest be rich; and white raiment, that thou mayest be clothed, and that the shame of thy nakedness do not appear; and anoint thine eyes with eyesalve, that thou mayest see. As many as I love, I rebuke and chasten: be zealous therefore, and repent. Behold, I stand at the door, and knock: if any man hear My voice, and open the door, I will come in to him, and will sup with him, and he with Me. To him that overcometh will I grant to sit with Me in My throne, even as I also overcame, and am set down with My Father in His throne. He that hath an ear, let him hear what the Spirit saith unto the churches.” Revelation 3:17-22

Thank you, Jesus, for this Word delivered to us through Pastor Terry Jimmerson, Destiny Church, Las Vegas, Nevada. Thank you, Pastor Terry, for your obedience and faithful delivery of this timely message. God bless you, Pastor; and, God bless you, dearest reader.

SDG

Destiny Church info can be found @ http://www.destinychurchlv.com

