Patience Of A Saint

This morning, I prayed earnestly before work began. I asked for a smooth day, peace between co-workers, no problematic patients, etc. But, for myself, I asked for patience and a bridled tongue to be able to represent Christ well. Seems I fail quite often, and I know I need God’s strength of character to overcome and make it through successfully. I finished with asking for the Word to be opened up to me that I might see what I had not seen before (this not being the first time through the book of Revelation). I did not have to read very far to recognize God’s timing between my reading the past week and my prayer today. This morning, I picked up in chapter 14, verse 1. Only 12 verses later:

“Here is the patience of the saints: here are they that keep the commandments of God, and the faith of Jesus.” Revelation 14:12

So, I asked for patience and God immediately responded with, “Obey my commands. Continue to follow Me.”

To follow Christ is to live by His example. He exemplified what obeying God’s commands looks like. He loved those around Him without measure and without prejudice. He loved the sinners and the saints equally. This is absolutely true, and yet He loved the Father first. Therefore, God’s commandments of old were how Jesus lived His life loving others.

Indeed, the only way those Ten Commandments could have been followed was by loving others.

” Owe no man any thing, but to love one another: for he that loveth another hath fulfilled the law. For this, Thou shalt not commit adultery, Thou shalt not kill, Thou shalt not steal, Thou shalt not bear false witness, Thou shalt not covet; and if there be any other commandment, it is briefly comprehended in this saying, namely, Thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself. Love worketh no ill to his neighbour: therefore love is the fulfilling of the law.” Romans 13:8-10

Love works no ill to a neighbor. All of the commandments of old were directed at living a God honoring life, helping and not harming one another in any way. Which includes no lying! Even if they don’t wish to hear the Truth, God says that even being truthful is loving someone. Conversely, lying is hating them; because, depending on the lie, they could be seriously harmed, up to and including eternal hellfire.

So, patience, therefore, is living that Christ honoring, fellow mankind helping life. What better way to help in our every day lives than to pray for those around us and remain in fellowship with Jesus through the Holy Spirit, always following His lead as we represent Christ to those around us, never wavering, always letting our lives emit the sweet aroma of a Savior Who is the Truth, the Way, and the Life? In living as He did, sacrificially, we honor Him and walk in the Truth of this world.

Patience. Following Christ. Loving on others like He did, and does. Be blessed, my friends.

SDG

