I AM

I AM.

Not I was, nor I will be. Those are encompassed in these two words, I AM.

Our God, the Only God, has no beginning and no end. He is everlasting, ever present, all knowing, everywhere all of the time. This world, this life, is merely 6,000 years old; yet, God has been there from conception until now. He created it from nothing. From darkness, light. Even if science were right in saying the world is millions of years old, that would only point to the immense greatness and longevity of God.

He made man.
He spoke to Adam.
He spoke to Abraham.
He spoke to Jacob.
He spoke to Moses, and He identified Himself.

“And Moses said unto God, Behold, when I come unto the children of Israel, and shall say unto them, The God of your fathers hath sent me unto you; and they shall say to me, What is His Name? what shall I say unto them? And God said unto Moses, I AM THAT I AM: and He said, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel, I AM hath sent me unto you.” Exodus 3:14

I AM THAT I AM.” Which I AM? That one.

He spoke to many more men over centuries; but then, for 400 years, He became silent. Then, He became as a Man and dwelt among us, and He cried out at His own birth. He spoke as a Child, an Infant.

As a grown Man, He would choose His disciples and He would teach them all that He was and why He had come, explaining the scriptures and how everything that was documented and all that was said was purposeful in pointing to that very time while He was here.

He even spoke His identity to the Pharisees, though they wouldn’t believe.

“Then said the Jews unto Him, Thou art not yet fifty years old, and hast Thou seen Abraham? Jesus said unto them, Verily, verily, I say unto you, Before Abraham was, I AM.” John 8:56-58

That was the reason they tried to stone Him. They knew that Name, but they didn’t realize Jesus was One and the Same God Who spoke it to Moses.

Jesus is that God. He is not the Father, though the Father is God. He is not the Holy Spirit, though the Spirit is God. He is the third Person of that Holy Trinity. He is the Lord spoken of in the Old Testament, and written of in the New.

“Hear, O Israel: The Lord our God is one Lord:” Deuteronomy 6:4

“But to us there is but one God, the Father, of Whom are all things, and we in Him; and one Lord Jesus Christ, by Whom are all things, and we by Him.” 1 Corinthians 8:6

One God, the Father.
One Lord, Jesus Christ.
The Lord, our God. They are separate Persons, but One God.

“If ye had known Me, ye should have known My Father also: and from henceforth ye know Him, and have seen Him. Philip saith unto Him, Lord, shew us the Father, and it sufficeth us. Jesus saith unto him, Have I been so long time with you, and yet hast thou not known Me, Philip? he that hath seen Me hath seen the Father; and how sayest thou then , Shew us the Father?” John 14:7-9

They are One God, but separate Persons.

“Believest thou not that I am in the Father, and the Father in Me? the words that I speak unto you I speak not of Myself: but the Father that dwelleth in Me, He doeth the works. Believe Me that I am in the Father, and the Father in Me: or else believe Me for the very works’ sake.” John 14:10-11

…and just as He has always been there, He always will.

“Jesus Christ the same yesterday, and to day, and for ever.” Hebrews 13:8

Jesus is the Lord.
Jesus is God.
He is the Great I AM.

SDG

